Easy DIY tree skirt

After having numerous tree skirts I didn’t ever LOVE enough to use year after year, last year I decided to just semi-make my own. I had made place mats last year out of material I absolutely fell in love with, but when I washed them, they fell apart. I was upset, but decided I could re-use them on this project. Day after Christmas last year, I was up and out EARLY, on the search for a plain red tree skirt. Yeah, I’m lazy and bought a red one for half off instead of having to make it. I found one I liked and came home to tear apart my place mats. I proceeded to cut out my dots, once that was done I arranged them on the tree skirt until I liked what I was looking at then pinned them down in place. I then, hand sewed with embroidery thread, each polka dot. I am in LOVE with the way it turned out and will be using this for many years to come. This wasn’t a project I did all in one day. It is one ย that I have worked on and off for 11 months. It’s very simple to do, although time consuming.

Here is the finished product and a close-up ๐Ÿ™‚ The material I used can be purchased here. They have LOTS of amazing choices!ย 

And here is is under my tree ๐Ÿ™‚ Forgive the lack of ornaments, with 2 toddlers I decided less is more. Coming in the next post, DIY matching place mats ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

